Skip to content

Make Your Own: Muesli

01/09/2013

MYO muesliAs Autumn approaches, it’s time to find the perfect breakfast.

As a mindful shopper, I’ve been paying more attention at the provenance of my food. It is tricky when food is processed, even a little. There are so many ingredients in muesli that it is impossible to know where they come from.

I’ve finally resolved myself to making my own muesli, buying each ingredients separately. The great thing about making your own is that you can personalise your breakfast.

Here are the ingredients I used for my first batch, which is delicious with almond milk!

  • Flaked almonds
  • Sultanas
  • Scottish porridge oats
  • Poppy seeds
  • Wheatgerm
  • Ground linseeds
  • Desiccated coconut
  • Chopped roasted hazelnut
  • Tons of cinnamon
6 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/09/2013 13:30

    You’ve just reminded me that this is something I have always wanted to make, but never quite gotten round to – thanks for the recipe :)

    • 01/09/2013 22:08

      Thanks for your comment! Very easy to make. You can add all types of chopped dried fruits. Some suggest to roast the mixture. I didn’t feel it needed it. It was just perfect like that.

      • 01/09/2013 22:11

        My dehydrator is on it’s way according to amazon so ill be drying all sorts of fruits for the foreseeable future. I’m looking forward to trying out a few different mixes of this recipe. And I think I’m probably too lazy to roast it so I’m glad to hear its perfect without doing that :)

      • 02/09/2013 12:56

        Oh dehydrator! That sounds like an exciting gadget. Have fun!

  2. 27/11/2013 12:44

    nice idea but I have a question. you believe that this method is cheaper than the ready-made product? What do you think about? thanks for the reply :)

    • 27/01/2014 20:59

      Thanks for your comment.
      It’s not cheaper than the ready made product. It just gives you more control on provenance of each ingredient.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 710 other followers

