Skip to content

Advice On Slow Cookers, Please.

27/01/2014

image

Dear readers,

We are finally about to join the club of slow cooker enthusiasts.

The decision is, as always when it comes to kitchen gadgets, tricky as so many criterias are at stake: functions, efficiency, reliability, price…

So I thought I would lead a small survey here and see what your experience is.

Two questions:

- What is your weapon of choice? (Why?)
- What veggie dishes do you cook in them?

Many thanks dear readers!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    02/02/2014 15:17

    I love my slow cooker. I cook about 2 suppers a week with it now. We’ve got the ‘Crock-Pot Digital Countdown Slow Cooker, 4.7 L’. The digital count-down part is essential for me – turn it on, set the timer and walk away. When it’s done cooking it switches to a keep-warm setting, so supper is ready when we get home. I returned an earlier model I had with a dial setting that didn’t have this feature. With some fancier models you can put the pot directly on the hob to fry things first, and into the oven afterwards to brown the top. This one is a good size for a family of 2 adults + toddler, with abundant leftovers.
    I make a lot of dishes from Stephanie O’Dea’s website: http://crockpot365.blogspot.co.uk/ . She spent a year using her slow cooker every day. I make her butternut squash soup quite frequently now – it is delicious. Soups, stews and chilis are great, and I’ve had good luck with puddings like cobblers and even with chicken wings.
    Good luck!!! I’ll watch for your posts with new recipes!

    • 03/02/2014 18:58

      Thanks so much for your comment and link. This is very useful.
      We’ve bought a Breville here, and it works nicely, but now I do wish we had a timer on it.
      I’ve made three dishes in it since Friday and I’m starting to get a feel for cooking in it now.
      It’s interesting to transpose my usual recipes into slow cooking and surely new recipes will come out of this discovery!
      Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 709 other followers

