Crunchy Oatmeal Apple and Rhubarb Crumble


For some reason, I had never dared to make crumbles until recently. I absolutely love eating them, but preferred somebody else to bake them for me. Some food I like so much I don’t want to unravel their mysteries.

That was until a few weeks ago. I had a lot of rhubarb in the fridge and enough rhubarb jam for the winter, so I just decided to improvise my crumble recipe, with the things I usually like baking with: oatmeal, flax seeds,vanilla sugar and butter.

It worked like a charm and it’s nice and crunchy as well. I’ve had a bit of a crumble obsession since I’ve broken the crumble code.

4 servings

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 50 gr. soft butter
  • 1/3 cup sugar + 3 tablespoons for fruit
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla sugar
  • 2 tablespoons ground flax seeds
  • 2 branches rhubarb
  • 2 apples

2 tbsp. whole wheat flour
Preheat oven to 200c.

Cut the rhubarb in half an inch slices, and cut the apples roughly. Place them in your baking tray with half an inch of water and 3 tablespoons sugar and cook for 15 minutes/until soft.

In a bowl mix the rolled oats, sugar, vanilla sugar, flax seeds and add the butter, diced. Mix with your fingers or your food processor until the butter is fully integrated.

Lay the mixture on the fruit and bake for 30 minutes until golden brown.

Serve with unsweetened full fat yogurt.

Leave a Reply

