Spicy Butter Bean Stew


Another dish inspired by my shopping at Uhuru in Oxford.

I had lunch with one of the baby yoga mums after class at the Magic Cafe on Wednesday. The place is vegetarian, new-agey, reminiscent of places I like in North America’s West coast. It would feel right in San Francisco or Vancouver.

I had a butter bean salad there, and as I walked back on Cowley road, I stopped at Uhuru and bought a few bits. I was pleased to find butter beans, because I had been looking for them for a while.  I decided to cook them with red and brown spices. Chorizo would have been lovely with it, but since we are still committing to our vegetarian weekdays I put a good amount of sweet paprika instead.

6 people

  • 500 gr. butter beans
  • 4 carrots
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 8 charlotte potatoes
  • 2 pointy red peppers
  • 400 gr. spinach
  • 1 big red onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 teasp. paprika
  • 3 teasp. sweet paprika
  • 1 small teasp. chilli flakes
  • 1 teasp. cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp. double tomato concentrate
  • 3 bay leaves
  • salt, pepper, olive oil

Soak the beans the night before.

Sweat the onion and garlic, add the sliced peppers, carrots, and the diced sweet potatoes. Sweat for a few more minutes.

Dice the potatoes, and add to the vegetables. Add all spices, salt, pepper, bay leaves and tomato concentrate. 

Add the beans and cover in water. Cook in pressure cooker or stew until beans are soft.

Finally, add the spinach and cook on low heat for 10 minutes. Add a dash of good olive oil before serving.

Leave a Reply

