Vinaigrette Dressing


I’m often asked how I make my vinaigrette. The classic way to prepare vinaigrette is salt, pepper, 1 tablespoon red vinegar for 3 tablespoons sunflower oil. I’ve developed my own mix over the years and  I use balsamic vinegar, olive oil and a generous amount of French Dijon mustard.

Mustard is a good thickener, and it does an excellent job in homemade mayonnaise as well. I prepare my vinaigrette in advance and keep it in a bottle in the fridge. It’s great to have it ready especially now that salad season has started!

  • 3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 100 ml. balsamic vinegar
  • 200 ml. olive oil
  • salt and pepper

The key to a good vinaigrette is to always add the ingredients in the same order, and the oil should always go last. In a measuring cup, add salt, pepper, mustard and vinegar. Mix until the mustard is absorbed. Then pour the olive oil little by little and stir constantly, and you will notice that the dressing starts to thicken.

Pour the dressing in the bottle of your choice and keep in the fridge.

Shake before using.

One response to “Vinaigrette Dressing

Leave a Reply

