Make Your Own Mayo


I’m always puzzled when people don’t know that you can make mayo from scratch. It was my Breton granddad’s task at home. When I went there on holiday, I would watch him whisk the eggs and oil mixture energetically and mechanically, until it raised and set nicely. As a child, I thought that making mayonnaise must be quite a special trick if my granddad who made big copper pots for a living, was the man for the job.
Not so, and actually a child can make mayo. It’s quick, easy, tasty; my kind of cooking.
These days I make it to accompany leftovers of chicken, seafood and for homemade coleslaw. But it also serves as a base for tartar sauce and rouille.

serves 4 people

preparation: 10 minutes

  • a glass and a half of olive, sunflower or rapeseed oil
  • 1 tablespoon French mustard
  • 1 egg yolk
  • salt and pepper

In a medium bowl, put salt and pepper, the egg yolk, a tablespoon of French mustard. Mix until it makes a paste. Then add the oil little by little and whisk each time before adding more.

When you have added all the oil, put it in the fridge for 1 hour.

Leave a Reply

