Instant Homemade Hummus


Have you ever dreamed of making your hummus at home in 10 minutes?

I have. This is why I was a bit overexcited this morning when I realised it was possible. No soaking, boiling, cooling down and processing chickpeas. Suddenly, it becomes so easy and spontaneous.

Yesterday, I went to Uhuru, my favourite health food shop in Oxford, and bought 500 gr. of what will soon become my new cooking obsession: chickpea flour.

This morning I made a first small bowl of humus, and dare I say it, it’s even better than making it from scratch because the chickpea flour is ground finely enough to get a perfectly smooth texture instantly.

For a small bowl, 200 gr. approx
Preparation: 10 minutes

  • 5 tbsp. chickpea flour
  • 1 small garlic clove
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. tahini
  • 5 tbsp. water
  • 1 lemon
  • a hint cumin
  • a small squirt of harissa or chilli powder
  • fresh ginger
  • salt

In a bowl, put salt, cumin, harissa. Grate the garlic and a bit of ginger. Add the chickpea flour.

Squeeze the lemon and pour the juice into the bowl. Add the water, the olive oil and the tahini.

Stir well until all ingredients are blended nicely.

Place into your fridge for 30 minutes before serving.

13 responses to “Instant Homemade Hummus

  1. I’ve seen this on the package of chickpea flour but I’ve never tried tit. Good to know it yields such a nice result!

  2. Wow– I had no idea! I saw chickpea flour today, too. I actually PEELED chickpeas last week because I heard it made a smoother hummus (along with microwaving the chickpeas for 30 seconds before putting them in the food processor). I honestly couldn’t really tell the difference, and it took ages. I’ve been using chickpeas in a can because they were on sale, plus I always FORGET the dried ones are soaking, and they start to smell and sprout. Yuck. I’ll try the flour sometime!

    • Very handy! Peeling chickpeas, that’s dedication! When soaking change the water often, it actually helps with the undesired effects of chickpeas.

  3. Oh! I’m so excited to read this! Will have to try. I once tried making hummus from canned chick peas and it was quite disastrous. I’ve not yet been brave enough to try making hummus again…till now.

  4. I ham so surprised – so that is how hummus becomes so fine! Thanks for the recipe.
    I am just boiling chickpeas to make hummus like I always did – next time I’ll try it with the chickpea flour!

  5. Copied it, pasted it and forwarded it to my vegetarian son. Being dedicated to the quick and easy cooking I may try it for myself. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

