Rhubarb And Carrot Cake


On Sunday, I made this very moist cake, verging on gorgeously gooey, delicious with a couple of spoonfuls of Greek yogurt on the side.

Ed’s dad has a great rhubarb plant in his garden, it keeps on giving all summer. Each time we visit we bring back a few branches. I have a few rhubarb recipes here, but I needed to create another one, for the sake of variety.
I find that lemon goes really well with rhubarb, so I added lemon zest and juice.
I’ve made a simple icing to use the extra juice from the rhubarb which I reduced to a syrup.
If you want to opt for a more spongy version, just use less rhubarb.

Serves 6-8 people
Preparation: 30 minutes
Baking: 35-40 minutes at 200C

  • 7 sticks rhubarb (400gr.)
  • 3 carrots
  • 1 cup wholemeal raising flour
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 1/2 cup porridge oats
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup yogurt
  • 2 tbsp. rapeseed oil
  • 3 tbsp. honey
  • 4 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 tbsp. poppy seeds
  • 6 tbsp. icing sugar

Pre-cook the rhubarb with a couple of tablespoons of water and the brown sugar in the oven on 250C for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a bowl add flour, porridge oats, wheatgerm, poppy seeds, and grated carrots.

Grate the lemon and juice it. Add the zest to the bowl as well as half of the juice. Add the eggs one by one. Then go the yogurt, honey, oil and baking powder.

When the rhubarb is soft, press it gently in a colander and remove the extra moisture, and save the sugary juice that comes out.

Add the rhubarb to the mix. Oil your baking dish –I use a lasagne dish, because I serve this cake in square portions– and pour the mix in it.

Bake for 35-40 minutes at 200C.

For the icing:

In a small saucepan, bring the sugar and rhubarb juice to boil until it reduces to a few tablespoons of syrup. Add the rest of the lemon juice and the icing sugar. Baste the cake with the icing.

This makes a thin coat of icing, but if you prefer a thicker one, add a few more spoonfuls of icing sugar.

7 responses to “Rhubarb And Carrot Cake

  1. This cake sounds really tempting. And I have been searching for an interesting way to use rhubarb in a while. So next time when I see it in a store – I will give this one a try!

  2. I baked it today, used mascarpone cheese instead of yogurt, added walnuts- my Mum wants recipe. Delicious cake!

Leave a Reply

