Sweet Potato and Butternut Squash Dhal


Somebody asked me on L’Artichaut, if I cooked Indian food and if I liked turmeric. I answered that I don’t really cook Indian food but I do love turmeric. So if making an Indian veggie dish was a good excuse to use the lovely yellow spice, I’m in.

We had a delicious dhal at Vaults And Garden in Oxford last week so I decided to emulate their tasty food as best I could and make something ‘a ma sauce’ (my way), in my perfect pressure cooker.  It was a real success at home and I will cook this recipe for my fellow mums at the children’s centre at the end of the month for a pressure cooker demo.

Preparation: 20 minutes

Cooking time: 20-30 minutes

Serves: 8 people

  • 500 gr. yellow split lentils
  • 3 sweet potatoes
  • 1 butternut squash
  • 1 big onion
  • 1 big clove garlic
  • 2 tsp. turmeric
  • 2 tsp. garam masala
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. chilli flakes
  • 50 ml creamed coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp. tomato paste
  • 2-3 curry leaves
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tomato
  • Fresh coriander
  • oil
  • salt

Dice the butternut squash and the sweet potatoes.

Chop the onion and the garlic finely. Sweat in a bit of oil and then add squash, the diced tomato and sweet potatoes. Pour the spices and stir in the lentils. Cover in water, with an extra 2 inches. Add the curry and bay leaves as well as the tomato concentrate.

Cook with your pressure and remove from the stove as soon as the pressure is at its maximum.

When it’s ready, stir in the coconut milk and serve with chopped fresh coriander and brown rice.

3 responses to “Sweet Potato and Butternut Squash Dhal

  1. This one sounds simple yet delicious. I do make dahl a lot, but I never tried to add some pumpkin or sweet potato. The consistency must be great!

Leave a Reply

