Chard, Sweet Potato, Goats Cheese Bake


Time for some seasonal leafy green goodness.

Every year I see chards and I’m puzzled. My first instinct is to smother it in béchamel and bake it with grated cheese on top. That’s the extent of my chard food fantasies… not very exotic.

So I never buy it. On Sunday, we went to the Farmer’s Market in Chipping Norton and I had a chard impulse buy, thinking that now it was in my fridge I would have to come up with something.

I wanted to make the centrepiece of a hearty ‘start of autumn dish’, so I made a bake. I call it bake for lack of a real name for it, but to give you an idea; it’s in between a frittata and a pastry-less quiche. It’s good warm or cold with a bit of lettuce and vinaigrette.

preparation: 35 minutes

40 minutes 200C

Serves: 6 people

  • 1 big bunch of chard
  • 3 medium sweet potatoes
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 100 gr. wholewheat flour
  • 400 ml. milk
  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 40 gr. walnuts
  • 125 gr.  goats cheese
  • 1/2 tsp. fenugreek
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • salt, pepper, olive oil (for the pan)
  • butter (for the oven dish)

Heat the oven at 200C.

Peel, slice and steam the sweet potatoes.

Wash and chop the chard roughly. Cook the chard in olive oil with the grated garlic for a few minutes until it softens, and place in a colander to remove excess liquid.

In a big bowl, mix flour, spices, eggs, yogurt, olive oil, salt and pepper. Pour the milk little by little.

Spread butter on the whole surface of a big lasagne dish. Place the chard, walnuts and sweet potatoes at the bottom. Then on top, spread small chunks of goats cheese. Finally, pour the batter in the dish.

Bake for 40 minutes until golden.

Serve with a green salad and vinaigrette.

4 responses to “Chard, Sweet Potato, Goats Cheese Bake

    • Great. It’s very simple. I forgot to add that you can make it with different veggies: broccoli, spinach, peppers, mushrooms would work well.

  1. That’s great! I want to try with pumpkin. I made a delicious butternut squash and mushroom Spanish style brown rice tonight: yum!

Leave a Reply

